I Won’t Write About the Conflict; Or, What I Think Of When I Think Of Israel

israelgrouptours:

Israel is such a lovely country, no need to talk about such things, look at Haifa! we arrange great Haifa tours why not see how Israel is really all about :)

Originally posted on Brute Reason:

My hometown, Haifa

I won’t write about the conflict.

Yes, I know I’m from there. I know I must have Such Interesting Perspectives on that whole…situation.

I know I have friends in the IDF. I know I once strongly considered moving back, and thus getting drafted myself. I know I’ve seen rubble and remains of Qassam rockets and tanks and bomb shelters and graves. What do I think of all this?

Not much, anymore. I’ve gone numb.

I used to write about it, publicly. I had a newspaper column and everything. You can probably guess which perspective I took. My family was so proud, sending the articles to their friends, saying, See, here’s a young person who gets it.

And then I stopped, cold turkey.

I’m not ignorant. I read the news. But the news is so damn different depending on who reports it, and each side can easily counter…

View original 1,187 more words

Leave a Reply

